Province of Utrecht

The province of Utrecht spans 155,400 hectares and consists of 26 municipalities with a joint population of 1,36 million. Utrecht is the oldest and smallest province in the Netherlands and is also one of the most densely populated.

Utrecht is a leading international region, able to claim the highest gross domestic product per capita and the highest-educated population in the Netherlands. In fact, the European Commission named Utrecht one of Europe's most competive regions.

The province of Utrecht is one of the 12 provinces in the Netherlands. The province works in close co-operation both with municipalities and with the State. The province of Utrecht has a tier of government comprising elected authorities (the Provincial Council and the Provincial Executive).

Snel naar


Visitors address:

Archimedeslaan 6 | 3584 BA Utrecht
Tel: +31 (0)30 258 91 11
Open: Monday to Friday between 8.30am and 5.00pm